Follower, by Hanaa Wahba

A letter to my children,

In the past, you were tripping, falling, whining; but today it is me who keeps stumbling behind you.

This is our story. We grew up together. When you were yapping babies, I carried you, hugged you and held you warmly; I rocked your cradles gently till you relaxed and enjoyed sweet slumber.

You played together and giggled, filling not only the house with joy, but also my life. I was enthused with every step you took, every word you pronounced, every skill you developed.

I returned from work and you were right at my heels, on top of my shoulders following like my shadow as I hustled from this room to the other. I sometimes kicked, jostled or even yelled at you; but you were not detained. You still followed, overjoyed to be close.

Year in year out, you grew taller. You could cycle, swim, play soccer and basketball. You moved from this school campus to that. I was enthralled and could not believe my little tots are now athletic champions and high school students. Even then you still followed closely: she claiming that her dream was to be a mom; he shadowing me in class.

Then you went to University: he abroad, she at home. Growing up amazingly fast, maturing, and becoming completely independent. I watched with delight; happy for his fast independence and hers. The secrets, private night calls, love stories of which I was given a hint here and a hint there delighted me; but I was still the reference. They came to me for advice, a friendly chat, a preferred opinion.

Today, we are here: on the other side of the Atlantic, in a far away spot. I feel secure following you. It is hard to keep up with your fast pace, your intimacy with technology, your adventurous spirit so I keep stumbling behind you and you slow down to give me a chance to catch up.

We have exchanged places rather untimely for me because I would still love to take care of you.

 

 

About hanaawahba

Dr. Hanaa Wahba was born and educated in Cairo, Egypt. After her BA, she started a teaching career that she is still pursuing. In 2002, she completed her PhD in Education from the University of Kensington, USA. Throughout her teaching career, Dr. Wahba, worked in a number of schools and private universities, taught ESL, English Literature, supervised and developed curricula and directed schools. Her career extended to teacher training and corporate career development. From 1993 till 2002, Dr. Wahba was employed by the University of Cambridge (UCLES), where she gained first-hand experience of setting exams and marking scripts for IGCSE, an experience that she communicated to many young teachers who joined the field. In 2009, Dr. Wahba published her first book that was very well-received by the media and proved very popular among readers. Her following book “Marwa’s Birthday” is a novel about women’s life in Egypt.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Follower, by Hanaa Wahba

  1. Reda says:

    You are a wonderful mother. You are really a virtuous woman. I quoted what the wise man says:

    Give her credit for what her hands have made: let her be praised by her works in the public place.

  2. Reda says:

    Karim & Randa are blessed to have you as their mother

  3. Lost your closeness my dear friend and sister while watching your precious mother’s heart … unlucky me ya Nou2a

  4. Maggie says:

    You are not a follower, but simply a mother with a loving heart. I envy you for your braveness &
    decision…they are lucky to have a loving mom. I believe in the saying that looking in the eyes of my kids is worth my whole life

  5. Mervat says:

    Not a follower but a leader with a heart of gold. Your kids are blessed to have you. You have touched many lives. I’m very luccky to have you in my life.

Leave a Reply

