The Power of Love

The Power of Positive Love         

My love for you is a fact, more solid than all the proven scientific theories, more stable than the mountains; higher than the stars and deeper than the fathoms of the oceans; resistant to the tremors of the most powerful earthquake. The evidence is continuous and uninterrupted. It does not change despite the years, the seasons, the addresses; despite war and revolution, despite a secular or religious state, a democracy or a dictatorship; and the witness countless. You and I are the prime witnesses, in need of no evidence but for the public, the evidence is there, blatant and repeated. We talked about “us” not about “our love” because that was a given, a basic ingredient in the relation, the reason behind the talk and the endless pleasure.

When you left, we still did not question the love or its continuity. The river of love will flow forever, unquestionably and unconditionally, nothing can obstruct its path. As long as we live, it will flow from our hearts.

My initial response to your departure was tears but they sprang from the very river of love, the everlasting source. I blamed myself for the tears and searched deep inside me to see if I were too possessive, too selfish; but the river soon found a channel to pour the extra love. I looked around me and there were scores of people I could think of who need to be loved, to be taken care of. Many need a friend, others yearn for a nice chat, all want  to be accepted for who they are, to be heard, to be able to speak without being blamed or labeled.

Your love empowered me. I know you are away but the everlasting fountain is not dry. The water runs clear and fresh and continues to flow to reach out for the needy. I have a world around me that I love and I can help. But I can do all this only because of your love that miraculously gives me the energy, the initiative and the power to continue. No more tears but let others drink from the fountain of life.

About hanaawahba

Dr. Hanaa Wahba was born and educated in Cairo, Egypt. After her BA, she started a teaching career that she is still pursuing. In 2002, she completed her PhD in Education from the University of Kensington, USA. Throughout her teaching career, Dr. Wahba, worked in a number of schools and private universities, taught ESL, English Literature, supervised and developed curricula and directed schools. Her career extended to teacher training and corporate career development. From 1993 till 2002, Dr. Wahba was employed by the University of Cambridge (UCLES), where she gained first-hand experience of setting exams and marking scripts for IGCSE, an experience that she communicated to many young teachers who joined the field. In 2009, Dr. Wahba published her first book that was very well-received by the media and proved very popular among readers. Her following book “Marwa’s Birthday” is a novel about women’s life in Egypt.
This entry was posted in Article. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

