Love Letters

Love Letters

In a most disappointing political, social and economic environmnet, here are some love letters to relieve some of the pain and take you away from a sordid reality to soar high with eagles.

Even the great Churchill aleviated some of his pain by love.

Only love will redeem us  from the dark tunnel in which the SCAF, the Muslim Brotherhood and all other conspirators have trapped us.

Enjoy a dose of love: love of spouse, parents, children, friends, neighbours, students, colleagues. All love is healthy for the mind and purifying for the soul.

January 8, 1845

Monsieur, the poor have not need of much to sustain them — they ask only for the crumbs that fall from the rich man’s table. But if they are refused the crumbs they die of hunger. Nor do I, either, need much affection from those I love. I should not know what to do with a friendship entire and complete – I am not used to it. But you showed me of yore a little interest, when I was your pupil in Brussels, and I hold on to the maintenance of that little interest — I hold on to it as I would hold on to life.

This letter was written by Charlotte Bronte, English writer, to Professor Constantin Heger. There is no evidence that this love was ever returned by him.

January 23, 1935

My darling Clemmie,

In your letter from Madras you wrote some words very dear to me, about my having enriched your life. I cannot tell you what pleasure this gave me, because I always feel so overwhelmingly in your debt, if there can be accounts in love…. What it has been to me to live all these years in your heart and companionship no phrases can convey.

Time passes swiftly, but is it not joyous to see how great and growing is the treasure we have gathered together, amid the storms and stresses of so many eventful and to millions tragic and terrible
years?

Your loving husband

(Winston Churchill)

August 15, 1846

I will cover you with love when next I see you, with caresses, with ecstasy. I want to gorge yu with all the joys of the flesh, so that you faint and die. I want you to be amazed by me, and to confess to
yourself that you had never even dreamed of such transports… When you are old, I want you to recall those few hours, I want your dry bones to quiver with joy when you think of them.

Gustave Flaubert, famous French writer, to his wife Louise Colet.

 

 

To Adele Foucher

My
dearest,
When two souls, which have sought each other for,
however long in the throng, have finally found each other …a union, fiery and pure as they themselves are… begins on earth and continues forever in heaven.

This union is love, true love, … a religion, which deifies the loved one, whose life comes from devotion and passion, and for which the greatest sacrifices are the sweetest delights.

This is the love which you inspire in me… Your soul is made to love with the purity and passion of angels; but perhaps it can only love another angel, in which case I must tremble with apprehension.

Yours forever,
Victor Hugo (1821)

September 7, 1881

Life has become very dear to me, and I am very glad that I love. My life and my love are one. “But you are faced with a ‘no, never never'” is your reply. My answer to that is, “Old boy, for the present I look upon that ‘no, never never’ as a block of ice which I press to my heart to thaw.”

Vincent Van Gogh, famous French artist to Theo, his brother, describing his passion for his cousin, Kee. She never withdrew from her position of ‘no, never never’.

About hanaawahba

Dr. Hanaa Wahba was born and educated in Cairo, Egypt. After her BA, she started a teaching career that she is still pursuing. In 2002, she completed her PhD in Education from the University of Kensington, USA. Throughout her teaching career, Dr. Wahba, worked in a number of schools and private universities, taught ESL, English Literature, supervised and developed curricula and directed schools. Her career extended to teacher training and corporate career development. From 1993 till 2002, Dr. Wahba was employed by the University of Cambridge (UCLES), where she gained first-hand experience of setting exams and marking scripts for IGCSE, an experience that she communicated to many young teachers who joined the field. In 2009, Dr. Wahba published her first book that was very well-received by the media and proved very popular among readers. Her following book “Marwa’s Birthday” is a novel about women’s life in Egypt.
This entry was posted in Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

